Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Work & Benefits > Benefits & Tax Credits > how do i cancel working tax credit ? *newbie* (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
how do i cancel working tax credit ? *newbie*
Closed Thread
Views: 14,117
# 1
overdrawnjim
Old 12-02-2008, 12:08 AM
MoneySaving Newbie

Default how do i cancel working tax credit ? *newbie*

Hi everyone i hope someone can help ? I have been claiming working tax credits for the last 7 months but as from the end of january 2008 i finished my employment and called to cancel my working tax credit but they are still paying me every week ? i am at the minute having to sign on and claim jobseekers allowance of which i have not yet received anything and ive called now 3 times to cancel my working tax credit payments and they say thanks and we have now sorted out your claim and you wont be payed again but they ARE still paying me ? Will this effect my claim for income support and jobseekers allowance and how can i get thme to stop paying me ?

Thanks to anyone that can help !
# 2
NAF
Old 12-02-2008, 12:21 AM
MoneySaving Convert

If you have tried three times and they still havent stopped then that is terrible service. I dunno how helpful your local office is but they should have a priority line through to Tax Credits which is available only to Benefit offices. Try getting them to call on that priority line and see if that gets the job done.

I have done this for people recently and it is instantaneous.