Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

• ironman-uk
    • By ironman-uk 10th Mar 18, 6:44 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Worth going to court?
    • 10th Mar 18, 6:44 PM
    Worth going to court? 10th Mar 18 at 6:44 PM
    Hi All,

i am a newbie here, but have read the article on the appeals, specifically the technicality route using the 14 day notice to keeper requirement. My wife was driving the car at the time, the notice was subsequently sent to me as the keeper of the vehicle.

Salient points are:

29/7/2017 Parking incident happened
    20/11/2017 Notice to keeper arrived, stating £50 fine if paid within 14 days, £150 thereafter
    29/11/2017 My wife submitted an online appeal, reply sent to her email stating a response within 35 days
    18/1/2018 Received a letter demanding £150 as payment has not been received, otherwise no contacts since the online submission
    20/1/2018 Wife sent an appeal in writing - signage at the entrance was obscured by building work, actually shown on their ANPR picture as she had to use the exit to enter the carp park. Although looking at google earth, I think that there were probably other signs elsewhere in the car park.
    25/1/2018 Received a notice that the matter has been referred and POPLA number enclosed
    26/2/2018 Wife has not respond to the appeal within the 28 days noted, but offers payment by post of original fine
    2/3/2018 Original payment offer rejected, stating that time has expired to appeal or pay original amount, so we must pay £150