Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

    • riotlady
    • By riotlady 28th Feb 18, 3:35 PM
    • 69Posts
    • 202Thanks
    Saving what I can
    • #1
    • 28th Feb 18, 3:35 PM
    Saving what I can 28th Feb 18 at 3:35 PM
    So it's been a tough few months financially. My contract finished on my job in December as I was due to start at university in January, however I unexpectedly discovered I'm pregnant and have had to delay my course until next January. My maternity pay kicks in properly end of March (I've got 200 this month) and between then and finishing work I've had no income AND a bunch of baby stuff to buy (fortunately managed a lot of second hand deals) so my emergency fund is looking sadly deflated.

    I would like to build up the emergency fund to about £1000, and also save £2000 for driving lessons and a car. My course is in occupational therapy and can have placements all round the county, so between juggling that and childcare the car is going to be a necessity I think.

    I also have a save to buy ISA which contains a grand total of £110. We won't be in a position to buy for about 5 years (my partner is currently studying an access course in his spare time with a view of going to university too) but anything extra I can chuck at that is great.

    My maternity pay changes monthly but averages about 600. My partner gives me 300 towards our joint bills and chucks me a bit extra whenever he has the spare cash. When baby arrives we'll get child benefit and tax credit too, but obviously our expenses will go up too so I don't think we'll be in a vastly different position.

    Monthly income- 900
    Debts- 300 overdraft (interest free)

    Regular payments-
    Rent- 363
    Gas and electric- 67
    Water- 35
    Council tax- 100
    Netflix- 7
    Sofa payment- 30
    Phone- 25
    Charities- 12
    Total: 639

    That leaves 261 for food, household stuff, cat food and litter, transport, a tiny bit of socialising (we don't go out much, fortunately) and savings. Food is somewhat fraught at the minute as I have gestational diabetes and most of the cheap stuff I would normally cook (pasta, soup, veg curry) isn't suitable. Once baby is out that should get easier.

    I feel like our opportunities to cut down on spending are limited (although I will try!) so my main goal is to earn some extra money and I'm taking part in the £2018 in 2018 challenge. Wish me luck!

    Pay off overdraft- 100/300
    Car fund- 261.45/2000
    Christmas 2018 0/300
    Emergency fund- 550/1000
    House deposit fund- 110/7000
    Last edited by riotlady; 10-03-2018 at 10:21 PM.
Page 2
    • Zandimos
    • By Zandimos 13th Mar 18, 5:22 PM
    • 11 Posts
    • 7 Thanks
    Hi Riotlady,

    I feel I'm in a similar position as you. Not entirely, but I see some similarities

    Me and my partner are both 21 (living 1 hour apart) so seeing each other on weekends and she has our 9 week old baby girl.

    She's currently on maternity pay (statutory) and I'm working my socks off at work doing all the overtime possible to save for a deposit and also studying at uni part time! I live in York so not too lucky with the house prices but I'm determined to get us a family home

    Alongside my overtime I'm also making a lot of money by bank switching. Is this something you have considered? Theres a lot of money to be made with little hassle! I do it for myself and my partner and since this time last year have made around £2000 (albeit with using all 5 Nationwide referrals) but every little helps right?

    Hope that bank switching gives you a little bit of an incentive to look into it and make some money.

    I also do surveys on swagbucks , ipsos, crowdology, GFK and globaltestmarket. This is very lucrative for me as I seem to be making about £25 a month in pounds not just amazon vouchers! It may be applicable but if I make amazon vouchers from surveys I let my family members spend on my amazon and they transfer me the voucher value!

    If you shop at Asda, don't forget to use the price guarantee.... This has made me and my partner £15 since the turn of the year. I also scramble all the receipts I can find at the self service check out should they have 10 items on. Another one to consider as a little win!

    Last edited by Zandimos; 13-03-2018 at 5:24 PM.
    • savingwannabe
    • By savingwannabe 13th Mar 18, 6:07 PM
    • 13,147 Posts
    • 46,683 Thanks
    Gosh some great advice there. Riotlady, please take heart, there are many things you can do to help get more money. Sometimes fleabay is a faff I agree.
    Chiistmas Fund £60 (Dec 1st 2018)
    • riotlady
    • By riotlady 13th Mar 18, 7:58 PM
    • 69 Posts
    • 202 Thanks
    No bank switching any time soon for me, unfortunately. My partner doesn't have a bank account that allows transfers (nor does he have ID to open a proper bank account, though we're working on this) so he has to take money for rent and stuff out in cash each month and pay it directly into my bank, which means that I'm limited to the bank that's nearby. I wouldn't meet the minimum monthly pay-ins for most of them anyway, but maybe in the next year or two.

    Am working my way through surveys and also some product testing (doesn't make any money but yay, free stuff!)

    I was in a grumpy mood yesterday but today's been a good day I went into town again with a friend and had lunch (£10 at Giraffe, very nice) and got my bracelet fixed and cleaned (for free!)
    Make £2018 in 2018 challenge-
    • riotlady
    • By riotlady 15th Mar 18, 11:40 AM
    • 69 Posts
    • 202 Thanks
    We're due a couple of important deliveries today and tomorrow so I'll be hanging out at home to make sure we don't miss them (it's miserable outside anyway!)

    I had a growth scan yesterday and an appointment with the diabetes consultant- they reckon baby is 7lbs 10 already All of the newborn clothes only go up to 9lbs, I'm starting to worry none of them will fit xD I'm going to be having a c-section in my 38th week but they can't confirm when yet- I'll get a call on the 26th and it could be anytime that week!

    So, less than 3 weeks to go!!! Very exciting

    Plan of action for the next couple of days

    - Finally sort out the living room shelves so they look pretty
    - Sort out riotdude's random boxes of books
    - Ebay whatever I find that's sellable
    - Keep up with surveys
    - Call my Granny and email riotdude's to give them an update
    - Make chicken noodle soup from last night's leftover chicken
    - Repack hospital bag with a mix of newborn and 0-3 clothes in case of very chunky baby
    Make £2018 in 2018 challenge-
    • riotlady
    • By riotlady 16th Mar 18, 12:23 PM
    • 69 Posts
    • 202 Thanks
    Well sorting out the bookshelves is turning out to be a bigger job than I thought! Bright side is that I found a few old textbooks that We Buy Books is willing to give me £15 for and a few ebayable items.

    I have checked in with both the Grannys though and riotdude made some very lovely chicken soup so can tick both of those off the to-do list.
    Make £2018 in 2018 challenge-
    • Jaymie kate
    • By Jaymie kate 17th Mar 18, 5:38 PM
    • 59 Posts
    • 78 Thanks
    Jaymie kate
    It's always a challenge starting things like career, education and a child to raise but as all the others have said you're on the right path. Cliche as it may sound but sometimes the right path is not the easiest way. Take comfort in the fact that all hardships will pay off in the end.
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

2,602Posts Today

8,628Users online

Martin's Twitter