Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Krissy92
    • By Krissy92 9th Feb 18, 7:45 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Krissy92
    Variable pay every month and mortgage application
    • 9th Feb 18, 7:45 PM
    Variable pay every month and mortgage application 9th Feb 18 at 7:45 PM
    Hi everyone.
    First time posting but have been reading the forum for a while. Going to see a mortgage advisor on Tuesday but hope I can get some answers beforehand.
    So basically I work as a restaurant supervisor on hourly rate (not salaried) and as so my pay check is different every month depending on the hours I!!!8217;ve worked and tips I!!!8217;ve received. My question here is how would the lender calculate the amount they could offer? Is it going to be avaraged from the last 3 payslips ( I am paid every 28 days) and then added up as a yearly figure or would it be better for me to wait till end of tax year in April and use P60?

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Krissy92; 09-02-2018 at 7:58 PM.
Page 1
    • kingstreet
    • By kingstreet 9th Feb 18, 7:50 PM
    • 32,873 Posts
    • 17,706 Thanks
    kingstreet
    • 9th Feb 18, 7:50 PM
    • 9th Feb 18, 7:50 PM
    Probably average of latest six months payslips backed up by a P60 or two. If not, an employer's reference for contractual hours with anything above that taken as overtime, averaged and 50% taken.

Different lenders take different approaches. A decent broker will establish the right way forward.