Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • wilwil_uk
    • By wilwil_uk 8th Feb 18, 3:26 PM
    • 23Posts
    • 0Thanks
    wilwil_uk
    investment property advices needed
    • 8th Feb 18, 3:26 PM
    investment property advices needed 8th Feb 18 at 3:26 PM
    hi everyone, would like some advices or ideas of what a brilliant idea I came up with last night in bed when I couldn't fall asleep.

firstly im a self employed contractor earning just over the higher tax rate threshold, I used to live down south in and around London but couldn't stand the high rent and hopelessness of buying any decent property so I moved to manchester and bought a 3 bed semi outright which only worth around 125k. im single 38. no personal loan, credit card cleared every month, no dependent, only car finance which ends end of this year, so pretty much debt free.

my work involves lot of traveling if I want higher rate of pay and a 3 bed is not necessary for me to be honest, and I do miss the weather of the south. im happy to just rent a studio or moving back to a shared house if necessary.

so the "great idea" I came up with last night was, why not sell my house, and use the money to get a block of flats near some hospitals or universities under a limited company so rental income won't be added to my already higher rate of tax.

my questions are how likely will I be able to get a mortgage (buy to let /investment loan), and what other things I need to consider?