Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Amystopher
    • By Amystopher 8th Feb 18, 3:00 PM
    • 5Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Amystopher
    Debenhams Store Card Refund help...
    • 8th Feb 18, 3:00 PM
    Debenhams Store Card Refund help... 8th Feb 18 at 3:00 PM
    Hi newbie here!

I have a situation and Debenhams/Newday are so unhelpful. I wanted to ask for advice before I go ahead and do anything that will have a lasting effect.

I purchased a coat from Debenhams.com and paid using my Debenhams store card. I then proceeded to paying it off straight away which is something I've been doing for years with no issues. So the coat came and there's buttons missing all over, so I got in touch with Debenhams Head Office who have offered a refund which is what I want. However now that I've paid my store card which has a 0 balance, I would rather have the money back on my Debit Card, but Debenhams are not allowing this saying that the money will be refunded automatically back to the original payment method. Now I'm at a £65 loss and to be honest, the money would help me a lot this month, so they suggested I ring up NewDay who are the credit providers and do a balance transfer. Is this correct? Is this the right thing to do? Alternatively is there anything else I can do?

Thanks in advance x
Page 1
    • Oakdene
    • By Oakdene 8th Feb 18, 3:03 PM
    • 1,634 Posts
    • 5,927 Thanks
    Oakdene
    • 8th Feb 18, 3:03 PM
    • 8th Feb 18, 3:03 PM