Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • PJDiddy
    • By PJDiddy 3rd Feb 18, 11:41 PM
    • 16Posts
    • 20Thanks
    PJDiddy
    Claim Court Fee
    • 3rd Feb 18, 11:41 PM
    Claim Court Fee 3rd Feb 18 at 11:41 PM
    Hi all

I am considering taking my roofer to court, I have no experience at all in this area so have a quick and possibly dumb question regarding court fees. My original invoice was for £1550, would I have to claim for the whole amount or can I claim for £1500 and reduce the initial fee slightly? (Builder promised to redo all work under guarantee but has failed to even bother).

Thanks

PJDiddy
Page 1
    • unholyangel
    • By unholyangel 3rd Feb 18, 11:45 PM
    • 11,898 Posts
    • 9,161 Thanks
    unholyangel
    • 3rd Feb 18, 11:45 PM
    • 3rd Feb 18, 11:45 PM
    Can you give us a bit more info? What is it you're claiming for/what was the problem with the services?

If he botched the repair of your roof, usually you would get other quotes from other firms on how much it would cost to fix and claim for that amount (plus any other losses caused by the roofers breach).

The primary purpose of damages is to put you into the same position you would have been in (as near as money can achieve that anyway) had the breach not happened.

You can of course claim less if you wish.
    Money doesn't solve poverty.....it creates it.
    • KeithP
    • By KeithP 3rd Feb 18, 11:57 PM
    • 5,652 Posts
    • 4,345 Thanks
    KeithP
    • 3rd Feb 18, 11:57 PM
    • 3rd Feb 18, 11:57 PM