Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • geeovana
    • By geeovana 11th Jan 18, 7:49 PM
    • 25Posts
    • 26Thanks
    geeovana
    To drip, or not to drip.
    • 11th Jan 18, 7:49 PM
    To drip, or not to drip. 11th Jan 18 at 7:49 PM
    I am currently drip feeding £1500/month into the Vanguard FTSE All-Cap through a S&S ISA with HSD. I have been doing this for the past two months and so far the fund has gained around 3%. I have filled my 2017/2018 S&S ISA and so have the remaining £17000 sitting there as 'cash'. I am also in the process of transferring my 2016/2017 S&S ISA from IG to HSD. I filled the ISA (£15240) and currently sitting at nearly £18000, with around £12000 in Equities and the remaining in Cash.

Once the transfer is complete I will have around £23000 in cash in my S&S ISA. Once the 2018/2019 ISA is open I will be drip feeding around £1000/month in the ISA and directly into the fund.

Would people recommend just investing the £26000 into the fund in one fell swoop this month or continue drip feeding it in? My reasoning for drip feeding in the first place was due to the current high market valuation, to try and protect myself for any potential sudden corrections / large dips. However I now realise that should I have invested the £20000 I would have gained around £500 extra than the £100 I currently have. Obviously hindsight is a wonderful thing but I'm curious as to what others would do in a similar situation.