Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • silversnail
    • By silversnail 10th Jan 18, 10:38 AM
    • 5Posts
    • 0Thanks
    silversnail
    universal credit and zero hours contracts
    • 10th Jan 18, 10:38 AM
    universal credit and zero hours contracts 10th Jan 18 at 10:38 AM
    I am wondering if anyone can advise me. I have been teaching for thirty years, and was made redundant in August. I have signed up with two supply agencies, and on a good week I get enough work not to have to worry about money, though I am not working every day by any means.
    However, with the snow before Christmas, and then the Christmas holidays, and now the start of term, I am a bit concerned about my lack of work. My partner is self employed, and I was the main breadwinner up to now. We have two young children too.
    I haven't claimed any benefit as, foolishly, I thought I wouldn't be out of work for very long. I have been for several interviews, but seem to be too expensive; the cheaper, younger candidate is being appointed. I suppose the reality is hitting me now!