Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Murmansk
    • By Murmansk 8th Jan 18, 7:14 PM
    • 59Posts
    • 16Thanks
    Murmansk
    Vanguard Lifestrategy - should I cash in my "gain"?
    • 8th Jan 18, 7:14 PM
    Vanguard Lifestrategy - should I cash in my "gain"? 8th Jan 18 at 7:14 PM
    I'm relatively new to investing but I've done a lot of background reading and I have a question.
    I have had enough money in Vanguard Lifestrategy since October to have seen it go up in value by about £4,000.
    It's been suggested to me that I should withdraw £4,000 in cash in case the market drops so that at least I'll not have lost that gain.
    I'm aware that the advice generally is to keep your cash in for years on end, not keep looking at the value of it, benefit from compound interest, etc but I can see the logic of this suggestion and I wonder what people think?
Page 1
    • A_T
    • By A_T 8th Jan 18, 7:25 PM
    • 279 Posts
    • 163 Thanks
    A_T
    • 8th Jan 18, 7:25 PM
    • 8th Jan 18, 7:25 PM
    How do you think you'd feel if in a few months' time markets fall and it drops £4K in value?
    • Murmansk
    • By Murmansk 8th Jan 18, 7:32 PM
    • 59 Posts
    • 16 Thanks
    Murmansk
    • 8th Jan 18, 7:32 PM
    • 8th Jan 18, 7:32 PM
    >>How do you think you'd feel if in a few months' time markets fall and it drops £4K in value?<<