Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • LolaPear
    • By LolaPear 7th Jan 18, 9:10 PM
    • 14Posts
    • 1Thanks
    LolaPear
    Santander Declined due to Paying Off Debt?!
    • 7th Jan 18, 9:10 PM
    Santander Declined due to Paying Off Debt?! 7th Jan 18 at 9:10 PM
    I applied for a Santander credit card. I have been banking with them for 20 years. I did have three credit cards maxed out... paid them all off in full last month - so I am now debt free.

The bank phoned me up. They did an affordability assessment and credit check over the phone. I was then declined. I asked for the reason. They could not go into much detail but explained that my affordability checks failed.

Pushing for more answers, they told me that because my credit card accounts with other providers had a consistent history of high credit utilization for months and then all of a sudden they all dropped to 0, it has had a negative affect on my credit scoring outcome - with them, not the credit agencies.

Apparently even if you clear all your cards off, the fact you've got previous months of being maxed out / high utilization on your file can still affect you, the lady said.

I was quite angry. I worked overtime over Xmas to pay all my cards off and then the bank says I pretty much should've left them as is or cleared them over a longer period. No 0% card for me!

How long will this stick to me? Surely I am a good debtor for paying everything in full as it shows I pay back?
Page 1
    • zx81
    • By zx81 7th Jan 18, 9:23 PM