Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Kjbr09
    • By Kjbr09 5th Jan 18, 7:07 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Kjbr09
    Separation and money rights
    • 5th Jan 18, 7:07 PM
    Separation and money rights 5th Jan 18 at 7:07 PM
    Hi there
    Complete newbie here.
    This is going to sound mercenary, but here goes:
    Iíve been with my husband for 19 years, married for 13 of those. I want to separate and eventually divorce but because of the children have stayed. Itís now becoming unbearable and have started counselling but we found out this week that husband will receive a cash settlement from his job of over £75k in May this year. My question is, if we have separated before the date, do I have any entitlement to the money or can he keep it all? I have sacrificed my career to support his job while our children (now 10 and 7) were small and feel I ought to have at least a share of the money.
    Any advice gratefully received.
Page 1
    • NotSuchASmugMarriedNow
    • By NotSuchASmugMarriedNow 5th Jan 18, 7:43 PM
    • 566 Posts
    • 1,106 Thanks
    NotSuchASmugMarriedNow
    • 5th Jan 18, 7:43 PM
    • 5th Jan 18, 7:43 PM
    Your divorce won't come through before May anyway so when negotiating the finances just include the £75k,
    Overactively underachieving for almost half a century
    • elsien
    • By elsien 5th Jan 18, 7:48 PM
    • 15,672 Posts
    • 39,498 Thanks
    elsien
    • 5th Jan 18, 7:48 PM
    • 5th Jan 18, 7:48 PM
    A more accurate answer would seem to be "it depends."