Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • beegee455
    • By beegee455 29th Dec 17, 10:56 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 1Thanks
    beegee455
    PIP Assessment
    • 29th Dec 17, 10:56 PM
    PIP Assessment 29th Dec 17 at 10:56 PM
    Ive been a DLA claimant for 12 years and have now been summoned for a PIP face to face assessment.

So i gather my claim has not been good enough for a straight approval...

Not sure how to go about this as i am not good with appointments and talking face to face about my illness.

I have a severe psychosis which was not diagnosed in a good way. I was suicidal and committed to metal health hospital and while in hospital my psychiatric nurse suggested i get DLA...

So this is something I've never asked for no particularly wanted if I'm being honest...but in these 12 years my life has improved, I'm no longer suicidal and I have managed to cope. Ive never had to reapply face to face or anything like that.

But the fact that things have improved and I'm in less contact with mental heath professionals, is this going to affect my chances of getting the claim..

Ive read a few stories where mental health is being taken as serious with PIP..

Can anyone help with how i should approach this consultation, am i going to have to be open about my personal feelings and pretty much things i don't like to say to anyone or will i just have to answer what they ask...
Page 1
    • _shel
    • By _shel 30th Dec 17, 6:18 AM
    • 1,140 Posts
    • 1,916 Thanks
    _shel
    • 30th Dec 17, 6:18 AM
    • 30th Dec 17, 6:18 AM