Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • DWhite1
    • By DWhite1 6th Dec 17, 12:21 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    DWhite1
    Buying my first house!
    • 6th Dec 17, 12:21 PM
    Buying my first house! 6th Dec 17 at 12:21 PM
    Hi Guys,

Im new to this so you may have to bear with me!

I've just put in my first offer on a house which is as exciting as it is nervous. We have our deposit and then around £1,000.00 on top of that which we will probably have another £1,000.00 at the end of the month towards this. The sellers are looking to move however, they cannot begin to look in the area they want to until the property is sold which is fine as we are in no rush.

When (if all goes well and the offer is accepted) would i be expected to pay my mortgage deposit roughly? Also we have been made aware of solicitors, mortgage, insurance and surveying fees but what other up front costs can we expect?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

Dan
Page 1
    • anto164
    • By anto164 6th Dec 17, 12:23 PM
    • 135 Posts
    • 63 Thanks
    anto164
    • 6th Dec 17, 12:23 PM
    • 6th Dec 17, 12:23 PM
    Mortgage deposit goes to solicitors just before you exchange normally, but that could take months before you get to exchange contracts depending on all sorts of different cirumstances

Other fees to think about - have you thought about white goods / furniture / changing locks etc? You seem to have captured most other things. Other than deposits for services like internet etc.