Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • TripleB32
    • By TripleB32 5th Dec 17, 11:10 AM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    TripleB32
    Advice on partial mortgage
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:10 AM
    Advice on partial mortgage 5th Dec 17 at 11:10 AM
    Hello, newbie here looking for advice on a slightly unusual situation. Trying to get my head round possible options for us.
    We are currently renting a property from my MIL which she owns outright. It's been in the family for a couple of generations, and the plan is for the house to be left to my DH and his sibling. We have made this place our family home, and would like to buy it now just so that we have that security in the future.
    Would it be possible for us to buy half the house (we couldn't afford to buy it all) and have the other half gifted to us, without there being too many tax/other implications? We would be buying out his sibling early in effect.
    Thanks for any advice.
Page 1
    • getmore4less
    • By getmore4less 5th Dec 17, 11:16 AM
    • 30,847 Posts
    • 18,451 Thanks
    getmore4less
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:16 AM
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:16 AM
    CGT for the MIL is the most likely issue re tax.

the will depend on when it was achired by the MIL, value then and value now
    • G_M
    • By G_M 5th Dec 17, 11:18 AM
    • 42,342 Posts
    • 49,187 Thanks
    G_M
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:18 AM
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:18 AM
    Seems a bit harsh on the sibling who loses out!

MIL could certainly sell to you at half the market value (with you taking out a mortgage).