Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • drewhyndman
    • By drewhyndman 5th Dec 17, 11:02 AM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    drewhyndman
    Worried about variable rate mortgages
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:02 AM
    Worried about variable rate mortgages 5th Dec 17 at 11:02 AM
    I'm a freelance journalist so my income isn't exactly stable, the only way I see myself owning a home anytime soon is by taking a variable rate mortgage. But I've spoken to enough people who lived through 2008/09 and lost their homes as their variable rates rocketed.

Does anyone else have one and how do you manage it? Are you worried that what happened 10 years about might happen?
Page 1
    • ViolaLass
    • By ViolaLass 5th Dec 17, 11:09 AM
    • 5,130 Posts
    • 7,132 Thanks
    ViolaLass
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:09 AM
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:09 AM
    Why can't you get a fixed rate mortgage? If a lender agrees to give you a mortgage, they're bound to have fixed rates available.
    • getmore4less
    • By getmore4less 5th Dec 17, 11:12 AM
    • 30,732 Posts
    • 18,365 Thanks
    getmore4less
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:12 AM
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:12 AM
    Never had a fix, trackers and offset,

Fix they only protect for a very short window and in most cases the trackers ended up cheaper anyway.

we are in a slightly different time fixes can trail the rising edge on rates so may win for a few years but not by a lot.
    • Neutrinno
    • By Neutrinno 5th Dec 17, 11:14 AM
    • 151 Posts
    • 69 Thanks
    Neutrinno
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:14 AM
    • 5th Dec 17, 11:14 AM