Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • findingtaxtaxing
    • By findingtaxtaxing 4th Dec 17, 12:16 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    findingtaxtaxing
    Taxing an annuity (inherited)
    • 4th Dec 17, 12:16 PM
    Taxing an annuity (inherited) 4th Dec 17 at 12:16 PM
    Hi, It's my first time posting - I'm stuck and I'm hoping someone with more experience can help. I've inherited an annuity which will be paid monthly into my account for another couple of years. This annuity was included as a lump sum in the inheritance tax calculation and I paid 40% inheritance tax on it. I'm now being told that I also have to pay normal 20% PAYE tax on it too. That means 60% tax...that can't be right - can it? The solicitor said it is but I've lost confidence in them, mostly because it doesn't sound logical. Given the per hour charges I'm faced with I don't want to push back unless I can find out more. Does 60% tax on an inherited annuity sound right to you? Thanks :-)
Page 1
    • ermine
    • By ermine 4th Dec 17, 12:37 PM
    • 623 Posts
    • 924 Thanks
    ermine
    • 4th Dec 17, 12:37 PM
    • 4th Dec 17, 12:37 PM
    That means 60% tax...that can't be right - can it?
    Originally posted by findingtaxtaxing
    It can. An Annuity is an income, and therefore income tax is payable on it at your marginal tax rate.
    • Mark Jefferson
    • By Mark Jefferson 4th Dec 17, 12:39 PM
    • 32 Posts
    • 10 Thanks
    Mark Jefferson
    • 4th Dec 17, 12:39 PM
    • 4th Dec 17, 12:39 PM
    The Government actually does a fairly good job of explaining this: