Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • marliepanda
    • By marliepanda 29th Nov 17, 10:07 AM
    • 4,891Posts
    • 9,868Thanks
    marliepanda
    Remortgage with a loan on file?
    • 29th Nov 17, 10:07 AM
    Remortgage with a loan on file? 29th Nov 17 at 10:07 AM
    Apologies as I am very new to mortgages, having had one for only a month!

However, I am looking to do some home improvements on the house, garage roof has a bad leak, some windows need replacing and general decorating. I am looking at borrowing 10k at 2.9%, so roughly £900 interest over the term of 6 years.

Our mortgage is fixed for 2 years, so obviously will still have 4 years on a loan to run at £150 a month (so £75 each). Is this something that will prevent us mortgaging at a good rate? (were currently on 80% LTV)
    Survey Earnings 2017 - £163
Page 1
    • kingstreet
    • By kingstreet 29th Nov 17, 10:28 AM
    • 32,391 Posts
    • 17,394 Thanks
    kingstreet
    • 29th Nov 17, 10:28 AM
    • 29th Nov 17, 10:28 AM
    No way of knowing your affordability position in x years' time.

Customer retention product from existing lender probably free of income/status checks.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
    • marliepanda