Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • shadowst17
    • By shadowst17 29th Nov 17, 8:12 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    shadowst17
    Recent Graduate First Time Renting Questions
    • 29th Nov 17, 8:12 AM
    Recent Graduate First Time Renting Questions 29th Nov 17 at 8:12 AM
    I'm a recent graduate and have just gotten a full time job that starts on the 2nd January. I need to move down to London.
    My questions:
    • I'm not sure how rent is done for the first and second month. If I was to move in on the 27th of December I'd have to pay the deposit and the first full month of rent. How is the second month done? As I probably didn't move in on the typical rent day how are the extra days done? Do I pay the extra/few less few days the next month when the typical rent day comes by? I'm quite confused about this.
    • My main issue is I can't afford to pay 2 months of rent before my first pay cheque on the 24th of January. (after the deposit and other fees) So my attempt to avoid that would be to move in roughly 27-30th December. Due to this how soon should I start enquiring about places? I've found quite a few nice places on Spareroom.co.uk(House Share) but a lot of them are available now. I'm presuming it's typically a first come first serve situation? I can't view a place and then put down the deposit and move in say 2-3 weeks later and not pay the rent for the time between that?
    • A few of the places i've looked at need references, i've been in a privately ran student accommodation for University would that suffice?