Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Kjack
    • By Kjack 28th Nov 17, 11:42 PM
    • 3Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Kjack
    Bankruptcy and moving abroad to study to study
    • 28th Nov 17, 11:42 PM
    Bankruptcy and moving abroad to study to study 28th Nov 17 at 11:42 PM
    Hello Everyone,

This is my first time here as the whole situation is pretty new.
    I tried to search the forum but could not find any answer to the questions I have so would be grateful if someone could clarify some things for me if possible.

So the short story is that I worked for almost 6 years and was made redundant in June this year. During those 6 years, I racked up over £20k in unsecured debt. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find a reasonable employment since then (Initially was looking for a similar salary package but there were not that many roles).

I used all my redundancy money in the first few months of unemployment and since October I have been supporting myself solely on benefits (JSA and Housing Benefits). As I was not able to keep my repayments all my debts went into arrears and recently I filed for bankruptcy after having spoken to StepChange.

As I solely support myself with benefits the IPA has not been set up.