Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • CazDG87
    • By CazDG87 11th Oct 17, 11:14 AM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    CazDG87
    Employer tax "solution"
    • 11th Oct 17, 11:14 AM
    Employer tax "solution" 11th Oct 17 at 11:14 AM
    Hi,
    I work as an agency/ locum local authority worker and am paid via an umbrella company. Last week my agency contacted me to say that they recommend a new umbrella company who can increase my take home pay and yesterday that company called me.
    They claim to be able to increase my take home by £100 a week by using a loan "solution". He was adamant that it was not the same as a loanscheme that is now illegal, apparently due to new legislation passed last month however it sounds the same to me.
    They will split my weekly earningns into two amounts. They pay me a minimum wage amount that I pay tax/ NI on, the other amount they give to me as a loan which is therefore not taxable which creates the extra cash for me. He was clear that this is not illegal and said that I would not receive a tax bill at the end of the year. However I am doubtful. To be clear I have not agreed to join this company yet.