Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Docjames
    • By Docjames 6th Oct 17, 11:43 PM
    • 12Posts
    • 4Thanks
    Docjames
    Alternative to nhs pension?
    • 6th Oct 17, 11:43 PM
    Alternative to nhs pension? 6th Oct 17 at 11:43 PM
    Hi,
    I am a doctor in A and E,have a pension in the 2008 scheme
    Been contributing since 2009.People in general praise the NHS pension and would love to have it. But lately we doctors have been chatting about it and have some serious concerns.
    1. Our contributions are just increasing and the benefits remain the same.
    2. The pension age keeps getting pushed back, so we aren't sure when we will be able to enjoy the pension as our jobs are getting more stressful. .due to heavy under staffing etc.
    I wonder if having a SIPP would be of help.
    I wish to contribute around 80,000 to 100000 over the next decade.
    Just wish to know about the platform and funds. .There are so many options.
    How do you decide? Is an IFA needed? Or one just puts in money into funds like the vanguard lifestrategy 60?
    Or a private pension is the way forward?
    Some insight would be welcome. .
    Dr James. .
Page 1
    • PeacefulWaters
    • By PeacefulWaters 7th Oct 17, 12:03 AM
    • 6,970 Posts
    • 8,586 Thanks
    PeacefulWaters
    • 7th Oct 17, 12:03 AM
    • 7th Oct 17, 12:03 AM
    Whatever you do stay in the NHS pension scheme.

Options include AVCs within the NHS, SIPP and personal pension.