Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • segovia1
    • By segovia1 6th Oct 17, 12:59 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    segovia1
    Growing your own - complete beginner!
    • 6th Oct 17, 12:59 PM
    Growing your own - complete beginner! 6th Oct 17 at 12:59 PM
    We've recently inherited a lovely veg patch in our new garden as a result of a house move. I'd really like to start using it from next spring to grow some food! It would be great to get our two children involved too (aged 9 and 6).

My question is: does anyone have recommendations for good, simple books for beginners to get started?

Thanks
Page 1
    • Farway
    • By Farway 6th Oct 17, 2:56 PM
    • 5,575 Posts
    • 7,028 Thanks
    Farway
    • 6th Oct 17, 2:56 PM
    • 6th Oct 17, 2:56 PM
    Have a browse in local charity shops, a book with pictures is ideal, so you can see what it "should" look like.

It is easy to make gardening complicated, even easier to just get on with it

Try and avoid stuff that that is likely to be difficult for a newbie and may be disappointing, like melons or sweetcorn for instance

And grow what you & the family will eat, no point growing lettuce if everyone hates salad

A good starting point is the back of the seed packet

And on here, loads of experience and common sense right here on this board