Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Floyd_D
    • By Floyd_D 5th Oct 17, 3:28 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Floyd_D
    How much power does an Executor have?
    • 5th Oct 17, 3:28 PM
    How much power does an Executor have? 5th Oct 17 at 3:28 PM
    Hi

This is my first time doing this so I apologise if I have broken (or do break) forum etiquette.

Background:

My father died 9 months ago and I, along with my big sister, have applied and recently - in the last month - been granted letters of administration. It has taken a while as another sister placed a caveat on our probate application and only recently removed it. There are 9 beneficiaries in total. Myself and 5 siblings (making 6), and 3 half brothers.

Issue:

As you can tell from the above, my other sister, lets call her M, has been obstructive to date. Recently we began the process of selling my Dad's house, by taking the first step of dealing with the contents. We sent out an email listing all items and asked people to make a claim for the items they would like to keep. We stipulated any 'unclaimed' items would be sold and added to the Estate. After agreeing to this process, M has now changed her mind and thinks all items should be sold and added to the Estate. Not all beneficiaries agree to this. Two questions:

1. Would it be legally compliant to go with a majority decision and proceed based on that?