Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • ajstar
    • By ajstar 3rd Oct 17, 2:26 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    ajstar
    Query about the insurance clause in my tenancy agreement.
    • 3rd Oct 17, 2:26 PM
    Query about the insurance clause in my tenancy agreement. 3rd Oct 17 at 2:26 PM
    Hi all,

I am new to home and contents insurance as I was previously covered under my parents' policy so I'm hoping you can provide me with some insight.

I'm renting a property and in my tenancy agreement there is a clause about insurance, specifically to:

'obtain and maintain a policy of insurance with a reputable insurance company to provide not less than £2500 of cover for accidental damage to the Landlord's property, fixtures and fittings and possessions'.

The house is furnished. Is this clause typical of a tenancy agreement? My previous agreements have not had this but they were student rentals. I assumed we would just need to get contents insurance but 'property, fixtures and fittings' sounds like I will need to get home insurance too. Am I correct? And doesn't the landlord already have to have insurance to cover this themselves?

TIA for your advice.
Page 1
    • Aretnap
    • By Aretnap 3rd Oct 17, 5:00 PM
    • 2,843 Posts
    • 2,339 Thanks
    Aretnap
    • 3rd Oct 17, 5:00 PM
    • 3rd Oct 17, 5:00 PM