Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • jimmyshack
    • By jimmyshack 3rd Oct 17, 10:00 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    jimmyshack
    Default Questions
    • 3rd Oct 17, 10:00 AM
    Default Questions 3rd Oct 17 at 10:00 AM
    Hi all, I've often mined this forum for knowledge but this is my first time posting. I've got a query about a few defaults I have on my credit file.

In total I have 8 however the newest one is 2 years old so i've been keeping my nose clean for a while now.

The question i have; two of the defaults are related to the same debt a Barclaycard, dated 4/8/15. On the barclaycard entry it states that the debt has been transferred to a collection agency (who i've recently paid off) however the default date is recorded on the collection agency entry as well.

I've read that a default can only appear once per debt but also that the default can be transferred into the name of the collection agency that has bought the debt. Does this scenario classify as a duplicate or correct recording?

Also i've made big inroads into paying off all these creditors, in the last month i've paid off about £6k with the rest (£5k) due to be paid in the next couple of months. With the defaults all being quite aged how do you think future creditors will look at them when it comes to a lending decision, say for car finance in another 6 months? I know it's a tough question to answer, however i'd appreciate a bit of a steer
Page 1
    • zx81
    • By zx81 3rd Oct 17, 10:03 AM
    • 13,683 Posts
    • 14,151 Thanks
    zx81
    • 3rd Oct 17, 10:03 AM