Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • User1312
    • By User1312 25th Sep 17, 1:27 PM
    • 81Posts
    • 17Thanks
    User1312
    Paint confusion!
    • 25th Sep 17, 1:27 PM
    Paint confusion! 25th Sep 17 at 1:27 PM
    A total paint novice here, is anyone able to help me with a list of steps and advice to redecorating the whole house? Or link me to a dummy's guide to, please?

The current walls are a mix of bright pink, green, purple, black..! We would like to paint everything white in the first instance and then choose our colours as we live in the house.

What do I need to be doing to the current walls to get them ready for this white coat? What type of paint, primer etc do I need to be buying for this, which will allow us to paint over with another colour in the near future?

I'm also confused by all the different finishes - matte / gloss / silk etc?

The ceilings have just been re-plastered, what do I need to be looking for for white ceiling paint? And do I need a prep/primer for the ceilings too?

Thank you!
Page 1
    • Cats are great
    • By Cats are great 2nd Oct 17, 9:47 AM
    • 51 Posts
    • 16 Thanks
    Cats are great
    • 2nd Oct 17, 9:47 AM
    • 2nd Oct 17, 9:47 AM
    It depends what sort of paint is already on the walls. Hopefully it's water based, if it is ensure the walls are smooth. Fill any holes with a fine surface filler, allow to dry and give it a fine sand with 00 grade sandpaper.