Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Lauraadele18
    • By Lauraadele18 15th Sep 17, 7:00 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Lauraadele18
    Small bussiness absolute beginner
    • 15th Sep 17, 7:00 PM
    Small bussiness absolute beginner 15th Sep 17 at 7:00 PM
    Hi im very kean to start a small selling online business only trouble is i dont want anyonr knowing its me so cant ask friends and i want to keep costs down as much as possible so can afford to pay for advice. Im hoping you lovely experts can help!

Specifically about the accounts side of things and the inital set up.

1. Do you need to apply for any licences when selling online products are just household items, nothing electrical, no alcohol, no food etc.
    2. I know i need to register my companu with gov but is it really that simple? What forms do i need to complete?
    3. Im thinking about registering my company as a limited company rather than a sole trader is there any additional costs for this
    4. Accounts is a big worry to me. I know other people do their own accounts and i knoe i would be able to do it but i dont know what i need to record ready for when i do have ro file my accounts at the end of the year. Does anyone have a blank document they have to fill out at the end of the year they can share?
    5. Is accounts harder or easier to do or the same if i have a limited company or sole trader
    6. Will my financial year start from the date inregister my business and accounts submitted next Septemebr or the end of March?