Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Keviola
    • By Keviola 15th Sep 17, 3:53 PM
    • 13Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Keviola
    Voluntary pay cut
    • 15th Sep 17, 3:53 PM
    Voluntary pay cut 15th Sep 17 at 3:53 PM
    Hi,

I'm a substitute teacher in Northern Ireland and have been for 10 years now. During this time I have moved to the top of the pay scale through annual progression. However, due to the budgetary difficulties faced in the public sector recently, I have found that I have become too expensive for schools to hire me. I have asked the Department of Education if I can move back down the pay scales to give myself a better opportunity for work but they have refused to allow me to do this.
    Can someone tell me if there is anything I might be able to do to force this issue with them?

Thanks in advance
Page 1
    • Guest101
    • By Guest101 15th Sep 17, 5:17 PM
    • 15,147 Posts
    • 14,752 Thanks
    Guest101
    • 15th Sep 17, 5:17 PM
    • 15th Sep 17, 5:17 PM
    I don't know the system in NI, but if you aren't employed then how can there be pay scales?
    • glentoran99
    • By glentoran99 15th Sep 17, 5:23 PM
    • 4,588 Posts
    • 3,588 Thanks
    glentoran99
    • 15th Sep 17, 5:23 PM
    • 15th Sep 17, 5:23 PM
    I don't know the system in NI, but if you aren't employed then how can there be pay scales?
    Originally posted by Guest101
    she is employed, as a substitute teacher but you don't get paid unless you work, almost like 0 hour contract
    • Guest101