Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • alxmryjn
    • By alxmryjn 12th Sep 17, 11:26 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    alxmryjn
    Need help with partners debts ... !
    • 12th Sep 17, 11:26 PM
    Need help with partners debts ... ! 12th Sep 17 at 11:26 PM
    Hi guys,

So I hate to do this and it makes me feel like I'm awful but I want to help my boyfriend and things haven't gone too smoothly so far. He has around 12,000 in debt with various creditors, he works around 40 hours a week and the outgoing is still around £200 more than the income.

I'm a full time student and I work 30 hours a week too - his debt is nothing to do with me but I am trying to help him, but I don't count our household income collectively as I personally have my own things to pay for.

So here's a breakdown, I'll post his share of the breakdown, as we halve mostly everything.

rent - £250
    all bills inc. council tax - £150
    food - £60 (including our kitten food but I pay all their vets bills)
    mobile - £10
    tv/entertainment - £13
    car/insurance - £298
    car (his mother's payment) - £118.20
    barclay card - £81
    vanquis card - £90
    aqua card - £20

(all per month, all his share, double those figures and it would be the total between us both)

total cost of the cards and car finances;
    barclay - £1982
    vanquis - £1452
    aqua - £770
    mothers car - £3886
    his car - £ 5195

His monthly income is around £1100