Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • B.B
    • By B.B 11th Sep 17, 11:03 AM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    B.B
    Mortgaged due for renewal (shared ownership) and redundancy
    • 11th Sep 17, 11:03 AM
    Mortgaged due for renewal (shared ownership) and redundancy 11th Sep 17 at 11:03 AM
    Hello, I'm new to this so please bare with me.

I've owned my shared ownership property for 13 years and have had the same job during that time.

I've just been made redundant and have realised my mortgage is due for renewal next month, and not next year, as I initially thought!

I am also in the process if extending my lease (I it's currently at 76 years). I've had to fund this myself via a personal loan as my bank refused to release any of my equity to cover this as they did not deem it "urgent". I assume this will be a positive for the bank as the flat's value will increase with a longer lease - the fact I've got a personal loan and don't now have an income could be a problem though?

So... My main issue is what I do about renewing my mortgage without having a job, I doubt I'll find another before this mortgage needs renewing. I believe my mortgage will return to the banks standard variable rate after it ends, but I am not sure if even this applies if I don't have a job! Or whether I could claim from my TMPI policy if the mortgage is out if it's fixed rate deal.

Please could anyone advise me on what I should do next as I'm feeling completely overwhelmed and don't know where to start!

Thank you!
Page 1
    • kingstreet