Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • anonymous_user
    • By anonymous_user 11th Sep 17, 8:13 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    anonymous_user
    Credit Card Interest?
    • 11th Sep 17, 8:13 AM
    Credit Card Interest? 11th Sep 17 at 8:13 AM
    Hi Guys,

I'm new to MSE and was wondering if anyone can help me? I currently have £1,500 on a credit card of which I have been paying the minimum amount each month. My question is, if I pay the full amount off now and then use the card to pay my bills during the month would I avoid interest?

Many Thanks in advance for your help.
Page 1
    • zx81
    • By zx81 11th Sep 17, 8:15 AM
    • 14,117 Posts
    • 14,801 Thanks
    zx81
    • 11th Sep 17, 8:15 AM
    • 11th Sep 17, 8:15 AM
    There would be some residual interest on the next statement, but once you have cleared two consecutive statements in full, there would be no interest if you continued to clear in full each month (assuming no cash transactions etc).
    • anonymous_user
    • By anonymous_user 11th Sep 17, 8:18 AM
    • 2 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    anonymous_user
    • 11th Sep 17, 8:18 AM
    • 11th Sep 17, 8:18 AM
    Ok thank you, so paying the card in full each month and using it solely for the usual bills etc means I could lose the 30% interest altogether going forward?
    • zx81
    • By zx81 11th Sep 17, 8:32 AM
    • 14,117 Posts
    • 14,801 Thanks
    zx81
    • 11th Sep 17, 8:32 AM
    • 11th Sep 17, 8:32 AM
    Yes, as long as you clear in full each month.
    • chattychappy