Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • simonlines
    • By simonlines 8th Sep 17, 11:17 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    simonlines
    Halifax Mortgage... First time buyer... Confused! HELP
    • 8th Sep 17, 11:17 PM
    Halifax Mortgage... First time buyer... Confused! HELP 8th Sep 17 at 11:17 PM
    Hi All, a fairly long tale so bare with me....

I found a property I wanted to purchase, a new 2 bed home through Morris Homes. The house is £149,750 and I intend to use the Help to Buy scheme. A bit of a background on me, I am a Community Nurse who earnt in the past year a basic salary of £24,550. I worked unsociable enhanced hours which came to around a further £1,200 and then overtime bank shifts which equated to around £1,100 after tax. As of Monday just gone I have got a promotion. I signed a new contract with my NHS trust to become a 'Student District Nurse' so basically the trust have seconded me, are funding me to go through this Course at University, are paying me £26,550 for the year so my basic wage has gone up and at the end of the course a job will be waiting for me at a higher salary again. So in the year ahead I will be continuing to do some bank overtime work.