Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • HLS43
    • By HLS43 7th Sep 17, 3:44 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    HLS43
    Electoral Roll Close affecting mortgage
    • 7th Sep 17, 3:44 PM
    Electoral Roll Close affecting mortgage 7th Sep 17 at 3:44 PM
    Hi there, apologies if this is in the wrong place, I'm a newbie and just wondering if anyone had any advice. Having finally gone through a lengthy divorce and financial settlement, my partner is trying now to get a mortgage. She has an excellent credit rating, but is not on the electoral roll, so her application has been declined (purely because of the electoral roll).

She's tried to get on the electoral roll, but it is apparently now closed until the end of November and it takes 2 months once open for it to update on Experian, meaning that she can't now get a mortgage until the end of January at the earliest!

Has anyone come across this before and is there any way around it?

Thanks in advance
Page 1
    • kingstreet
    • By kingstreet 7th Sep 17, 3:58 PM
    • 31,941 Posts
    • 17,071 Thanks
    kingstreet
    • 7th Sep 17, 3:58 PM
    • 7th Sep 17, 3:58 PM
    Which lender declined a mortgage on lack of electoral roll visibility as I've never come across that?

Has she never been on it, or is it just appearance at a recent/ new address?