Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • misteriley
    • By misteriley 6th Sep 17, 7:56 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    misteriley
    Buy to let query...
    • 6th Sep 17, 7:56 PM
    Buy to let query... 6th Sep 17 at 7:56 PM
    I currently have a buy to let and a residential, in Jan 18 I am looking to get another BTL...However last month I started a contract role, this will initially last until December but is paying a years salary in 4 months.

My problem: how would I apply for a mortgage when.

A) as a new contractor I can't show two years accounts
    B) what if my contract is not extended and I am in limbo looking for another

I know I'll need a broker, just wondered if anyone knew or had similar issues.

Thanks all
Page 1
    • glosoli
    • By glosoli 6th Sep 17, 8:11 PM
    • 673 Posts
    • 387 Thanks
    glosoli
    • 6th Sep 17, 8:11 PM
    • 6th Sep 17, 8:11 PM
    With some difficulty to be honest.

Whilst there is variation amongst lenders in relation to their criteria, in terms of whether they will accept accounts or calculate your GAI from your daily rate, a combination of short contracting history, only evidence of one contract which may/not be renewed, no limited company accounts etc, would make it a difficult application to place.

Assuming the application was approved initially, if the offer document is produced after the expiry date of your existing contract, then they will probably require another contract, and if you can't produce that then it probably would not progress until you got it sorted.