Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Netty77
    • By Netty77 6th Sep 17, 7:32 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Netty77
    Council Tax help
    • 6th Sep 17, 7:32 PM
    Council Tax help 6th Sep 17 at 7:32 PM
    Hello, I'm new to this but asking for some kind advice. I currently pay my council tax in 10 monthly instalments. I am also in my 4th year of an IVA so my funds are limited.
    I have always paid my council tax on time. Then in April this year, some 'kind' soul hit my stationery car leaving damage. I had to get it repaired to travel to work. (I live in a rural area with no access to public transport)
    I contacted the tax credits office to say I would be late paying my council tax that month and they were fine with this. I paid it on my next pay day which was the 27th of the same month.
    Since then, I have been paying at the end of each month. I contacted them after getting a letter telling them I will always pay that months due tax but it may be after the due date of 15th. I explained I have an IVA and that I would speak with my IVA provider to apply for a payment break to allow me to get this straight again. I am waiting for this to be sorted as they recalculated my finances and advised I should apply for a 'funds paid' with my creditors.
    Today I have had a final demand for the year when I actually made Septembers payment yesterday! So I'm not actually in arrears any more.