Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • buzz1234
    • By buzz1234 6th Sep 17, 10:45 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    buzz1234
    Credit Card Calculation Help
    • 6th Sep 17, 10:45 AM
    Credit Card Calculation Help 6th Sep 17 at 10:45 AM
    Hi,
    I am a mature student starting this September, my old laptop has decided to give up the ghost. I am doing a photography degree and require a powerful laptop. The one I have chosen costs £1870.00
    I have a student loan and it is paid to me in instalments.

I want to purchase the laptop with a credit card (17.4%) for purchases

I have a surplus amount of money from the student loan to pay off the credit card and because of my tight budget I want to keep the minimum monthly payments as low as possible.

I will have.

11 Sept £612.86
    31 Jan £612. 87
    24 April £664.27

What will the total amount of interest cost me?
    How Much will the monthly repayments be?
    Should I reserve some of the 11 Sept payment to cover monthly costs?

I do hope someone can help with this.

Thank you

Simon
Page 1
    • eskbanker
    • By eskbanker 6th Sep 17, 12:21 PM
    • 5,466 Posts
    • 5,269 Thanks
    eskbanker
    • 6th Sep 17, 12:21 PM
    • 6th Sep 17, 12:21 PM
    Minimum repayments vary by card so nobody can tell you what the minimum is without knowing what the card is! The minimum payment calculation will be stated in the Ts & Cs of your card though.