Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • dvtrv
    • By dvtrv 6th Sep 17, 10:03 AM
    • 149Posts
    • 21Thanks
    dvtrv
    Switching from one Fibre Broadband provider to another
    • 6th Sep 17, 10:03 AM
    Switching from one Fibre Broadband provider to another 6th Sep 17 at 10:03 AM
    Hi,

I'm due to switch from one FB provider to another for the first time.

I'm new to this so please excuse my ignorance.

Will the current cable need changing in my home or is it just done from the "exchange box"?

Many thanks in advance for your assistance.
Page 1
    • macman
    • By macman 6th Sep 17, 10:46 AM
    • 41,344 Posts
    • 16,998 Thanks
    macman
    • 6th Sep 17, 10:46 AM
    • 6th Sep 17, 10:46 AM
    The only fibre cable is from the exchange to the street cab, unless you have FTTP rather than the much more common FTTC. Otherwise, you have good old-fashioned copper from street cab to the house. The only work will be at the exchange, if you are moving to a different LLU provider. In effect, it's no different to a supplier switch on ADSL.
    All fibre and copper cable from exchange to cab belongs to Openreach, and will continue to do so.
    No free lunch, and no free laptop
    • dvtrv
    • By dvtrv 6th Sep 17, 11:03 AM
    • 149 Posts
    • 21 Thanks
    dvtrv
    • 6th Sep 17, 11:03 AM
    • 6th Sep 17, 11:03 AM
    Than you so much for that.

I'm with Virgin is your response the same?
    • lee111s
    • By lee111s 6th Sep 17, 11:22 AM
    • 2,858 Posts
    • 1,946 Thanks
    lee111s