Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • ccdean100
    • By ccdean100 17th Jul 17, 6:22 PM
    • 6Posts
    • 0Thanks
    ccdean100
    outstanding payment - where do I stand ?
    • 17th Jul 17, 6:22 PM
    outstanding payment - where do I stand ? 17th Jul 17 at 6:22 PM
    I am a freelance researcher and earlier in the year rented a desk in the UK. I have since moved away (abroad - where my business is now based) and cancelled the agreement before moving.

The company I rented from gave me instructions to set up monthly direct debit payments which I followed. It was via a payment system called "gocardless".

When I was leaving, I had an email from their accounts team telling me they had received no payments over the period. I checked and they were right. Their accounts team informed me that I had followed instructions correctly, but that there had been a mistake on their part meaning they had forgotten to take the monthly payments.

They have now sent me a bill for nearly £ 800, and I am wondering where I stand given it was their mistake. If the mistake was theirs, can they take action ?

I budgeted for the cost of the desk during the period I was using it, but certainly cannot stump up £ 800 out of nowhere. Setting up in a new country is expensive as it is !

Any advice welcome, particularly with regards to whether doing nothing will result in my credit rating being affected which I just recently managed to get back on track.

Thanks for reading.
Page 1
    • Placitasgirl
    • By Placitasgirl 17th Jul 17, 6:25 PM
    • 216 Posts
    • 372 Thanks