Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • superbez
    • By superbez 17th Jul 17, 2:56 AM
    • 23Posts
    • 4Thanks
    superbez
    First mortgage
    • 17th Jul 17, 2:56 AM
    First mortgage 17th Jul 17 at 2:56 AM
    Hi

Finally in a position to buy our first home, we have the deposit, are now debt free and have a mortgage agreed in principle. I am interested to hear what people suggest we go for as total novices? I like the idea of a fixed mortgage as I am keen on knowing what I will pay regardless of what happens to the markets. With Brexit around the corner we had kind of settled on a 5 year fixed for security but the mortgage advisors we have spoken too both suggested 2 year fixed which is what the AIP is based on. I really have no idea on what I should be doing which is a little scary seeing as we are about to commit to the biggest financial outlay of our entire lives.

Any advice would be very much welcomed!

Many thanks
Page 1
    • juniordoc
    • By juniordoc 17th Jul 17, 10:10 AM
    • 113 Posts
    • 66 Thanks
    juniordoc
    • 17th Jul 17, 10:10 AM
    • 17th Jul 17, 10:10 AM
    In trying to make this decision you are basically trying to decide how interest rates are going to change in the next 2-5 years.
    It's a gamble, and no'one can give you any certainty.
    Personally, I think that all the brexit uncertainty and poor economic performance in the UK will put downwards pressure on interest rates keeping them low.