Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Mae85
    • By Mae85 15th Jul 17, 6:47 PM
    • 18Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Mae85
    Can me and my partner claim IB and CB ESA?
    • 15th Jul 17, 6:47 PM
    Can me and my partner claim IB and CB ESA? 15th Jul 17 at 6:47 PM
    Hi all, I am new to this but I often come to this website for advice so I figured I should join!

So basically I have been on income based ESA WRAG for about 8+ years now. I receive £204 a fortnight.
    I've been in a relationship with a guy for almost 2 years now, when we met he was working but since then he had to leave his job due to very ill health. He now claims contribution based ESA and gets £73.10 a week.
    He has been homeless for 18 months and living with his sister but he's on the housing register and has been offered a place which we have decided we would like to move in together. So now I know we will have to make a claim as a couple for ESA when we do eventually live together.

What I want to know is how much difference will the money be for us as a couple? And I have also read that even though we will be claiming IB ESA as a couple he is still entitled to his CB ESA also- is this right?

Also which one of us should apply for housing benefit? I am guessing him been as it will be his flat?
    Any help would be grateful!
    Mae
Page 1
    • nannytone
    • By nannytone 15th Jul 17, 6:51 PM
    • 12,043 Posts
    • 17,824 Thanks
    nannytone
    • 15th Jul 17, 6:51 PM
    • 15th Jul 17, 6:51 PM
    it would be a joint ESA claim.