Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • I am sparticus
    • By I am sparticus 14th Jul 17, 11:11 AM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    I am sparticus
    To fix or not to fix....
    • 14th Jul 17, 11:11 AM
    To fix or not to fix.... 14th Jul 17 at 11:11 AM
    Morning all

Newbie here

Ok so we have
    House value £260K
    Mortgage £151K
    14 Years left to run on interest only

We could almost clear the mortgage if we wanted to but that would empty our savings pot. Cant get Offset as we only have low wages ( through choice).

Locked in with Halifax on 3.5% until Feb or a ERC of £1800
    But could switch to 1.99% 5 years which drops £440 a month to £250

Would you leave it till Feb and try and fix then but need the crystal ball for the rates then available. Saves £11K over the 5 Years
    Or
    Pay now and have the security saves £9.5K over the 5 years.

By the time the Mortgage expires we will have money come our way to clear it with plenty left over

Im minded to go with the fix now

Over to you guys....

Cheers
Page 1
    • Boredatwrork
    • By Boredatwrork 14th Jul 17, 11:21 AM
    • 263 Posts
    • 418 Thanks
    Boredatwrork
    • 14th Jul 17, 11:21 AM
    • 14th Jul 17, 11:21 AM
    When I went for a new deal with Halifax, they allowed me to swop over 3 months early, I would give them a call and see if thats possible, that could bring your date back to december. Failing that I believe they do let you lock in a new deal 3 months in advance if you are worrying that the dates would shift.