Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • lazy&indebt
    • By lazy&indebt 12th Jul 17, 11:57 AM
    • 572Posts
    • 216Thanks
    lazy&indebt
    Help with International Share Dealing - JSE
    • 12th Jul 17, 11:57 AM
    Help with International Share Dealing - JSE 12th Jul 17 at 11:57 AM
    I am to be awarded some shares in my employer's parent company who are listed on the JSE. They have asked that I open a share dealing account and send them the relevant details. I am a complete newbie when it comes to investments and I really am not sure where to start. The only platform I can find that I know can trade on the JSE is AJ Bell who say they will charge me £29.95 plus 1% FX fee. Is this the best way to go?
    The shares have been awarded to me at a fixed price and I have to pay my employer for 50% of them. The shares are worth about 4 times what I will pay for them at their current value. My intention is to sell them immediately - I am not really interested in holding on to them or getting in to investing in the stock market at this time.
    I also don't understand the tax element. My employer says I will need to pay income tax and NI but when I called HMRC they said I would not (not capital gains as the value falls below that threshold) it is now my understanding that I do pay income tax/NI on the amount I purchase the shares for and not the amount that I sell them for. Is this correct?
    And also - will I have to pay stamp duty??

Thank you.
    Was debt free... then went travelling!
Page 1