Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Peachie_
    • By Peachie_ 12th Jul 17, 11:13 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Peachie_
    Age 22, Saving
    • 12th Jul 17, 11:13 AM
    Age 22, Saving 12th Jul 17 at 11:13 AM
    Hi,
    I have just turned 22 and have around £4,000 in savings. I have been working for a few years and didn't go to university so I don't have student debts. I earn just over £10,000 a year from 2 part time jobs. I think it's time to hardcore save for the future. I want to save to go to Australia as well as saving for a future house. I live with my parents so don't have many outgoings. How much do you think I should aim to save each month? Is £4000 a good starting point?
    Thanks
Page 1
    • eskbanker
    • By eskbanker 12th Jul 17, 11:44 AM
    • 5,008 Posts
    • 4,759 Thanks
    eskbanker
    • 12th Jul 17, 11:44 AM
    • 12th Jul 17, 11:44 AM
    £4,000 sounds a reasonable starting point, especially relative to £10,000 income, but it's impractical to give a figure for how much you should save without knowing the full picture of what commitments you have from your £800ish monthly wages, i.e. what's stopping you from saving it all?