Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • shilts
    • By shilts 9th Jul 17, 6:44 PM
    • 31Posts
    • 1Thanks
    shilts
    Where to put additional pension contributions ?
    • 9th Jul 17, 6:44 PM
    Where to put additional pension contributions ? 9th Jul 17 at 6:44 PM
    I currently pay into a company pension where I pay 4.5% and my employer pays 9.5% . I have been paying into this for several years and before this I paid into my brittanic personal pension . My question is that with interest rates being so low I am considering investing £100 a month into a pension . I can add additional money into an Aviva avc through work but my employer will not add anymore to it . Or would it be better to start adding money to my brittanic policy that has lay dormant since I started paying into my company pension with approx £40000 in it . At this moment I can afford £100 a month but need the option of turning this on/off if my circumstances change . Would one of these two options be the best over starting a new pension and which would be the most tax efficient option , many thanks .
Page 1
    • number_monkey
    • By number_monkey 9th Jul 17, 7:55 PM
    • 4 Posts
    • 3 Thanks
    number_monkey
    • 9th Jul 17, 7:55 PM
    • 9th Jul 17, 7:55 PM
    First, I assume you've weighed up all the options of pension contributions vs saving/investing in an ISA or saving in a savings account.

1. Check if you're even able to add additional money to your dormant policy.