Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • mutty_hc
    • By mutty_hc 9th Jul 17, 11:41 AM
    • 229Posts
    • 11Thanks
    mutty_hc
    Gumtree sale advice - id sharing
    • 9th Jul 17, 11:41 AM
    Gumtree sale advice - id sharing 9th Jul 17 at 11:41 AM
    Hi All,

I am selling a camera on gumtree and the buyer wants to share photo id before they transfer their money.

I've never done this before, so wanted to check the issues surrounding sharing a photo of my drivers license id with them.

Any advice appreciated.

Thank you.
Page 1
    • bxboards
    • By bxboards 9th Jul 17, 12:00 PM
    • 1,297 Posts
    • 1,026 Thanks
    bxboards
    • 9th Jul 17, 12:00 PM
    • 9th Jul 17, 12:00 PM
    Gumtree is for face to face transaction only - this will be on your selling page.

Up to you if you do this, but there are warnings all over Gumtree about it being for in-person, face to face transactions.

Why people choose to ignore that site, and ask here is always a mystery to me!

If you do decide to sell remotely, only accept bank transfer.
    • Ting-Tang
    • By Ting-Tang 9th Jul 17, 12:15 PM
    • 116 Posts
    • 73 Thanks
    Ting-Tang
    • 9th Jul 17, 12:15 PM
    • 9th Jul 17, 12:15 PM
    I don't know why anybody genuine would ask you to do that but it smells a bit weird to me.
    I wouldn't if I was you.
    Last edited by Ting-Tang; 09-07-2017 at 1:26 PM.
    • Koa
    • By Koa 9th Jul 17, 12:41 PM
    • 3 Posts
    • 3 Thanks
    Koa
    • 9th Jul 17, 12:41 PM
    • 9th Jul 17, 12:41 PM
    Hi All,