Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Mark1987
    • By Mark1987 9th Jul 17, 11:25 AM
    • 78Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Mark1987
    Help, first time buyer in London with £55k/year
    • 9th Jul 17, 11:25 AM
    Help, first time buyer in London with £55k/year 9th Jul 17 at 11:25 AM
    Hi guys!

I'm a 30yo IT professional guy currently living and working in London (Farringdon).
    My current salary is £55k/year, which could reach £60k in the next 1-2 years, and I could use savings for £140k, no more.

I am single and at the moment I am renting a 1-bed flat for £1300/month (bills included) so I was thinking to buy something to avoid this big waste of money.

I am very confused because I am not sure I will stay in London in the next 2-5-10 years but everything can happen, I may change mind. I would like to invest my money to buy something to avoid to pay the rent and to have a profit, when reselling this property in the future. What would you advice me? I don't have any idea where I can start. Should I consider flats or houses with my budget? What is a realistic price for a house I can afford?

I like west London generally and it's very convenient for IT jobs, in case I will leave my current company.

Also, do you think it's a good period now to invest in properties?

Thanks a lot for your help!
    Last edited by Mark1987; 09-07-2017 at 11:30 AM.
Page 1
    • economic
    • By economic 9th Jul 17, 11:56 AM
    • 1,581 Posts
    • 737 Thanks
    economic
    • 9th Jul 17, 11:56 AM
    • 9th Jul 17, 11:56 AM