Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • SNRussell
    • By SNRussell 7th Jul 17, 1:54 PM
    • 8Posts
    • 2Thanks
    SNRussell
    ESA awarded without any evidence
    • 7th Jul 17, 1:54 PM
    ESA awarded without any evidence 7th Jul 17 at 1:54 PM
    I applied for ESA only about 3 weeks ago and I've already had a letter come through stating I've been awarded:
    -£57.90 for living expenses
    -£62.45 for being severely disabled
    -£15.90 for disability income guarantee

(I'm a 21 year old student on enhanced daily living of PIP, this is income not contributions based).

And I'm really confused. My initial letter came through about 2 weeks ago asking for a fit note, along with proof of my student loan and savings details, as I've been ill I only managed to get a fit note yesterday (though back dated as I've had the problems from years). Yesterday I was sent the ESA50 form and again, that has yet to be sent off. Does this mean I still have to send off both things? Furthermore, once they receive my evidence is there a chance that they might change the award amount?

Furthermore, I assumed because I'm a student the amount I am eligible for would be much less than what I have been awarded. They were fully aware what I received yet they haven't included it on my award letter so I'm not sure why this is. Is this something I need to get in touch about or can I assume that for some reason they have chosen to discount it?