Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • avogadro
    • By avogadro 6th Jul 17, 12:46 PM
    • 3,200Posts
    • 5,393Thanks
    avogadro
    traditional range products/Astral
    • 6th Jul 17, 12:46 PM
    traditional range products/Astral 6th Jul 17 at 12:46 PM
    It's a bit of a minority market but I've been using Boots traditional cold cream for many years, and was disappointed to see it's now been discontinued.

Somebody mentioned to me a product called Astral, which appears to be similar: an old-fashioned no-nonsense skin cream which can be used as a cleanser and make-up remover. I believe they sell it in Superdrug.

Has anybody used this? I would be interested to know what it's like.
Page 1
    • DollyDee
    • By DollyDee 6th Jul 17, 4:35 PM
    • 735 Posts
    • 831 Thanks
    DollyDee
    • 6th Jul 17, 4:35 PM
    • 6th Jul 17, 4:35 PM
    I used it years & years ago. From memory it's similar to the Nivea Creme in a tub.
    • Bathory
    • By Bathory 6th Jul 17, 5:40 PM
    • 183 Posts
    • 2,731 Thanks
    Bathory
    • 6th Jul 17, 5:40 PM
    • 6th Jul 17, 5:40 PM
    I sometimes use Astral at night (mostly in the Winter months) but not all the time as my skin is problematic. I have also used it to take makeup off. Superdrug often has it at half price and a little pot then is only around 60p so not much to lose if it doesn't suit you.

I always apply it lightly otherwise it can be greasy.
    A wise old owl lived in an oak. The more he saw the less he spoke. The less he spoke the more he heard. Why can't we be like that wise old bird?