Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • c19v81
    • By c19v81 19th Jun 17, 11:25 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    c19v81
    Can a scooter be claimed as an expense?
    • 19th Jun 17, 11:25 PM
    Can a scooter be claimed as an expense? 19th Jun 17 at 11:25 PM
    Hello forum, I am new to self employment and have been looking in to what type of things can be claimed as an expense come the end of this tax year. I stumbled across an article on the guardian that states:

Get On, a campaign group set up by motorbike and scooter manufacturers to promote two-wheeled travel, says it has identified a change to the Finance Act which means self-employed riders buying a bike solely for business use can deduct 100% of its cost from their taxable profits by claiming it as an annual investment on their tax return.

I have had enough of the terrible bus service I use and was considering getting myself a scooter to travel to work. I have no intention of using it for pleasure, but that could change after I get one. If I used it for say 95% business can I claim 95% of the cost?

It sounds too good to be true, so I wondered if anyone with experience could shed some light on the situation. Many thanks
Page 1
    • 00ec25
    • By 00ec25 19th Jun 17, 11:42 PM
    • 5,546 Posts
    • 4,927 Thanks
    00ec25
    • 19th Jun 17, 11:42 PM
    • 19th Jun 17, 11:42 PM
    the extract you quote relates to couriers with 100% business use!

however, a scooter is no different to a car. If you are self employed you have a choice: